Friday, October 10, 2014

The Halycon Bird (Demon Catchers of Milan #2)

The Halcyon Bird 

Written by: Kat Beyer
Age Range: 12 and up
Grade Level: 7 and up
Series: Demon Catchers of Milan
Sequence in Series: 2
Page Count: 352 pages
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Publication Date: November 11, 2014
Rating: 3.5 Stars
ISBN-10: 1606843168
ISBN-13: 978-1606843161
Genre: Paranormal | Urban Fantasy | Teen | Young Adult
Find this book on: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:
For fans of Lauren Kate and Cassandra Clare, a romance with a paranormal streak.

Mia has settled into her life with the Della Torres -- Milan's premier demon-catching family, accompanying them to exorcisms and even learning some way to be useful in the family trade. Then Bernardo comes into her life, handsome, well-mannered, someone who makes her forget her impossible crush on Emilio, her cousin. But always lurking in the background is the demon who possessed Mia once before, and who has not given up on possessing her again--this time for good.

The Halcyon BirdMy Review:
The Halcyon Bird by Kat Beyer

What if you were born a demon hunter and never knew it? Mia had no warning before the demon took possession of her but when her family the Della Torres crossed an ocean to save her, Mia discovers a whole new life path is set before her.

With the initial demon that possessed her still hot on Mia trail, Mia gets a quick course in demon 101. Her new found family is supportive but Mia yearns for the day she can stand on her own.

When the man Mia has come to adore is attacked, Mia must do everything in her power to try and save him...but will he ever think of her the same when it was her heritage that put him in danger in the first place.

I found The Halcyon Bird a highly imaginative, young adult tale. The Della Torres family was utterly relatable, aside for their demon capturing abilities, making you feel like a member in their family.

The story was slightly too slowing moving, I keep thinking it was young minded. At times, we are caught up in the daily details rather than the continuation of the story. I believe this created my detachment from getting emotionally connected to the characters and their plight.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed reading this story. Will I continue reading this story? Absolutely, it has a huge potential!

The Halcyon Bird was a very vivid story. The premise is captivating with an eerie glimpse into Beyer’s imaginative perspective on the spiritual realm. 3.5 Stars

I received this ARC copy of The Halcyon Bird from EgmontUSA in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication November 11, 2014.





No comments:

Post a Comment