Sunday, December 14, 2014

Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish

Owl and the Japanese Circus

Written by: Kristi Charish
Page Count: 432 pages
Publisher: Gallery Books; Canadian Origin edition
Publication Date: January 13, 2015
Rating: 5 Stars
ISBN-10: 1476794995
ISBN-13: 978-1476794990
Genre: Urban Fantasy | Paranormal
Find this book on: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:
Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world.

Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix—better known now as Owl—has one rule. No supernatural jobs. Ever. Until she crosses paths with Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon who owns and runs the Japanese Circus Casino in Las Vegas. He insists Owl retrieve an artifact stolen three thousand years ago, and makes her an offer she can’t refuse: he’ll get rid of a pack of vampires that want her dead. A dragon is about the only entity on the planet that can deliver on Owl’s vampire problem – and let’s face it, dragons are known to eat the odd thief.

Owl retraces the steps of Mr. Kurosawa’s ancient thief from Japan to Bali with the help of her best friend, Nadya, and an attractive mercenary. As it turns out though, finding the scroll is the least of her worries. When she figures out one of Mr. Kurosawa’s trusted advisors is orchestrating a plan to use a weapon powerful enough to wipe out a city, things go to hell in a hand basket fast…and Owl has to pick sides.

Owl and the Japanese CircusMy Review:
Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish

When a synopsis starts with fans of... will love this book, I have to admit...I'm a little sceptical. Much to my utter delight, I was absolutely thrilled with Owl and the Japanese Circus. I also have to admit, I felt it did live up to its comparisons in the synopsis.

The archaeology world is fully aware of the supernaturals among us, but the rule of thumb is never to reveal their presence. When grad-student Alix's excavations turns horribly wrong by a supernatural force, she becomes the “fall guy” to the university and academic world. Working outside the academic parameters can be very profitable but Alix has learned her lesson and made a rule to never deal with supernatural again...unfortunately, a simple mishap with a vampire has put her on the run and in the sights of a dragon.

Forced into another supernatural retrieval, Alix aka Owl discovers the supernatural world isn't exactly as she's imagined and she really sucks at identifying the supernatural around her.

Owl is a completely flawed character, human, struggling to survive among creatures faster and with much more life experiences because most of them are immortal or nearly so. I really enjoyed watching the character growth in Owl. She must re-evaluate her opinions and does so often when she realizes her errors in thinking.

There are a few plot issues but for the wonderful storytelling I could completely overlook.

I loved exploring the world Kristi Charish created and I can't wait to see where Charish takes us next.

I notices that the ebook vendors currently have it listed at a marvelous pre-order price. If you love a great Paranormal Urban Fantasy, check it out.

I received this ARC copy of Owl and the Japanese Circus from Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication January 13, 2015.




No comments:

Post a Comment