Saturday, April 4, 2015

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey (The Girl at Midnight #1)

The Girl at Midnight

Written by: Melissa Grey
Series: THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT
Sequence in series: 1
Page Count: 368 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: April 28, 2015
Rating: 3.5
ISBN-10: 038574465X
ISBN-13: 978-0385744652
Genre: Urban Fantasy | Paranormal
Find this book on: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:
For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight, #1)My Review:
The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Melissa Grey introduces us to a new and unique world of the Avicen in The Girl at Midnight.

The run away, Echo (human) is adopted by an ancient, magical and secretive race that lives under New York City. Someone who excels at pick pocketing, Echo's world erupts when she steals a gift that will start her on a fated journey. She must find the mythical firebird before the smoldering war between the ancients escalates.

Can the human girl save the magical people she's come to love? You are going to have to read The Girl at Midnight to find out.

I enjoyed The Girl at Midnight. It had an intriguing plot with lots of potential, but I wasn't riveted. I would like to explore more of this world. Most of all, I really loved the team that grew behind Echo; I am looking forward to seeing what dynamics evolve within that group. 3.5 stars.

I received this ARC copy of The Girl at Midnight from Random House Children's - Delacorte Press in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication April 28, 2015.



No comments:

Post a Comment