Sunday, July 19, 2015

Rhythm of Deceit by Rachael Richey (The NightHawk Series Book 2)

Rhythm of Deceit
by Rachael Richey

My rating: 5 stars

Series: The NightHawk Series - Book 2
Publication Date: July 29, 2015
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc
Genre: Contemporary Romance | Intrigue
Print Length: 426 pages
Available from: Amazon
Two years after finally being reunited, Abigail Thomson and Gideon Hawk are happily married and living in Cornwall with their children.

While Gideon is busy focusing his energies on his musical career, Abi makes an unexpected discovery of old diaries dating from 1950. As she and her daughter read through them, the reasons behind Abi’s mother’s destructive actions become much clearer, and they discover a shocking sixty-year-old deception.

Meanwhile, Simon Dean, the vengeful ex-drummer of Gideon’s band NightHawk, is about to make life very difficult for them all—again—and he is prepared to go to desperate lengths to achieve his goals.

 Rhythm of Deceit by Rachael Richey

Rhythm of Deceit After overcoming deceit, hidden agendas, distance and shattered hearts, love brought Gideon and Abigail back together. Now they are four, a family, safe within the love they share.  Their oldest child is headstrong and curious about the family she was torn from and her actions lead to a discovery of hidden diaries left by two women. Abi’s mother was cold, strict and did her best to keep Abi and Gideon apart, and it worked, for a while. Will these diaries shed light on the coldhearted woman  who struggled to find joy in anything?
Gideon is going solo, to re-ignite his singing career, but is getting NightHawk back together a possibility?  Former drummer, Simon Dean, now with a series of burned bridges behind him, overweight, a slave to alcohol and desperate to have Gideon back in his life, has devised a last ditch attack to end Gideon and Abi’s relationship. When his lies hit the smarmy newspapers can he finally get Gideon to see how bad Abi is for him or will it all backfire in his face, uncovering him for the liar he is? Will it make him even more desperate and put Abi’s life in danger?   Gideon will do anything to keep his family safe, but time is running out to defeat a monster and hang on to his world.

No secret here, I loved book one, Storm Rising by Rachael Richey, but book two, which should have been a tale of a happily ever after, is even more edgy, more dark and the lies and secrets are almost overflowing from its pages. Rhythm of Deceit goes beyond a dark romance and enters the world of intrigue, mystery and the twisted minds of people who should have been stalwart supporters of the love between Abi and Gideon. Her writing flows with the tension of this tale, hits the highpoints and the plummets to the depths of darkness, pacing perfectly through each transition. Readers will spend a good portion of their time on the edge of their seats, white-knuckled and in complete shock at what is revealed.  Brilliant writing that hooks the reader from page one.  The question remains, will Abi and Gideon get their HEA this time, or is Rachael Richey not finished with them yet??

I received an ARC edition from Rachael Richey in exchange for my honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment