Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Delayed Penalty by Sophia Henry

Delayed Penalty 
My Ratings: 3.5 Stars

Written by: Sophia Henry
Print Length: 252 pages
Publisher: Flirt
Publication Date: September 1, 2015
Sold by: Random House LLC
Genre: Contemporary Sports Romance
She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue, Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through, Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.
Delayed Penalty (Pilots Hockey, #1)Delayed Penalty by Sophia Henry

Auden was raised by her Russian grandparents after the loss of her mother. Her grandfather gets her a translating job with a Russian hockey player. Auden is a big hockey fan so this should be a cake job.

Alexandr, known as a ladies man, is the hockey player Auden is assigned to help. Alexandr fakes not understanding English to avoid speaking with the press and intentionally puts Auden on the spot.

Its a rocky romance with personal past life experiences coming into play. Of course the couple has shared nationality, but the romance was a bit awkward.

All around I found the story to be a sweet and easy romance. No huge passionate fire, no intense conflict just a completely slow growing relationship. 3.5 stars.

I received this ARC copy of Delayed Penalty from Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept - Flirt in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication September 1, 2015.







1 comment:

  1. Thank your for reading & reviewing DELAYED PENALTY! I truly appreciate it! :)

    ReplyDelete