Thursday, June 2, 2016

The Sound of Deception by Susan Ann Wall

The Sound of Deception
by Susan Ann Wall

My rating: 4 stars

Anthology: Summer Solstice: When Friends Become Lovers
Series: The Puget Sound—Alive With Love series - Book 4
Publisher: IndieWrites, Inc. (October 25, 2014)
Publication Date: October 25, 2014
ISBN-13: 9780692233115
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Print Length: 337 pages
Available from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

It’s the best arrangement possible: a friends-with-benefits relationship with the man she’s had a crush on for over a decade. Morgan Landry’s commitment to her career, coupled with her goal of NEVER being like her mother is what has her going back to Bryan Curtis for more and more…and well, even more. The biggest challenge is keeping it from their coupled-up friends, including her overprotective brother, who are all on the road to marriage, the one destination Morgan has no intention of reaching. When the arrangement sprouts some complications and Morgan starts failing tests and running away from her job, she does her best to deny the true beat in her heart.

Chief Petty Officer Bryan Curtis is married to the navy. He’s seen too many marriages fail because of the demands of the military to crave that kind of commitment. Because he likes women, his shallow reputation of pursing blondes has earned him the title of man-whore, a moniker he’s never minded until he crosses the line with Morgan. His loyalty to Morgan’s older brother – Bryan’s best friend – continues to eat away at him, but not enough for him to walk away from the women he’s craved for over a decade. Bryan keeps the secret to keep her in his bed, but when his heart gets involved, he has to own up to his feelings and hope it doesn’t ruin his friendship with his best friend or have Morgan jumping ship.

The Sound of Deception by Susan Ann Wall

Morgan is determined NEVER to repeat her mother’s mistakes. No man would own her heart or control her body, ever, but after years of lusting after her brother’s best friend, she discovers that, while friends with benefits has its appeal, the lies, secrets and facades are losing their appeal almost as fast as she is losing her heart.

Bryan would NEVER, absolutely NEVER let his best friend know about his feelings for Morgan, well, not unless he had a death wish. Being called a manwhore was a well-earned title, but Bryan never found a woman that could make an honest man out of him, until Morgan, off limits Morgan, totally hot Morgan, very confusing Morgan and very emotionally stunted Morgan. Can love conquer all or will they remain friends with benefits, benefits neither of them are willing to share with others?

The Sound of Deception by Susan Ann Wall is a fun read that also has the ability to completely frustrate, when two people refuse to admit that the wild and passionate sex between them is anything more than hormones in action while hiding their affair from everyone around them, especially Morgan’s overprotective brother. As a couple Bryan and Morgan have chemistry, no doubt, but their constant reference to what Morgan’s brother will do if he found out got old. If this couple, so obviously meant for each other can scorch the sheets with such abandon, they can come out from under the sheets so to speak. A great mix of subplots and characters phasing in and out in this emotional rollercoaster of love!

I received this copy from Susan Ann Wall in exchange for my honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment