Monday, September 26, 2016

Lost in Tokyo by Jenny Lynne

Lost in Tokyo
by Jenny Lynne

My rating: 4 stars

Publication Date: April 6, 2014
Publisher: Jenny Lynne
Genre: NA/YA Family Issues
Print Length: 207 pages
Available from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
 
SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO ABANDON YOUR COMFORT ZONE TO FIND THE PLACE WHERE YOU BELONG.

Nineteen-year-old Erin is hoping that her visit to Japan with her best friend, Adam, will be life-changing. Fifteen years ago, Erin's mother mysteriously vanished. The only clue she left behind is a handwritten itinerary for a dream trip to Japan, a trip that Erin doesn't know if her mother ever had the chance to take. Erin has decided to carry out this itinerary, believing that it might help her find her mother.

But her trip won't be going according to plan.

Just hours after Erin and Adam arrive in Tokyo, in a jet-lagged fog, they end up in bed together. While struggling with the tension that now dominates their once innocent friendship and the trauma stirred up from Erin's painful past, Erin and Adam visit the places on her mother's list. As they explore the wonders of Japan, Erin finds herself haunted by strange "memories" that seem to belong to her mother. Could these memories be real? If so, perhaps her mother can be found.

LOST IN TOKYO is an inspirational young adult / new adult contemporary romance novel that will appeal to readers of IF I STAY, JUST ONE DAY, and JUST ONE YEAR (by Gayle Forman), THIRTEEN REASONS WHY (by Jay Asher), and LEAVING TIME (by Jodi Picoult). The book gives us a travel guide of wonderful things to see and do while on vacation in Japan (featuring attractions in Tokyo, Kyoto, Nara, Nikko, and Kamakura) wrapped in a coming of age story of healing and hope, with an unexpected, but satisfying, ending.

 
Lost in Tokyo by Jenny Lynne
Nineteen-year-old Erin leaves the cocoon of her world in order to follow a forgotten bucket list her long lost mother had created, was it to bring closure or to feel a connection to the mother she barely remembers? Whatever it was that Erin sought, what she took home with her was more priceless than gold.
Erin and her best friend, the always “up for anything” Adam travel halfway around the world to re-trace her mother’s bucket list by visiting all of the sights she had catalogued to see in Japan. What she finds is a connection to her mother that felt real, as if she were seeing things through her mother’s eyes. When her relationship with Adam changes, it brings more conflict while also giving her a feeling of peace, but the greatest gift of all came by accident, or was it fate that brought her to the end of her journey and the end of the mystery that her mother left behind?

Lost in Tokyo by Jenny Lynn is a dark and almost mystical journey of a young adult in need of answers, a place to feel she belonged in, a the need to touch what had meant something to the mother who walked out on her fifteen years before. Rather somber, driven by the thoughts, actions and reactions of two people isolated by language and the customs of an ancient and foreign country. Highly emotionally charged, riddled with the pain of feeling abandoned. Do not expect a joyous ride of discovery, expect a tumultuous mental journey to cleanse one’s soul.

I received this copy from Jenny Lynne in exchange for my honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment