Saturday, November 11, 2017

When The Phoenix Rises by Nesly Clerge (The Starks Trilogy #3)

When The Phoenix Rises
by Nesly Clerge

My rating: 5 stars

Series: The Starks Trilogy - Book 3
Publisher: Clerge Books, LLC (November 10, 2017)
Publication Date: November 10, 2017
Genre: Thriller | Suspense | Crime
Print Length: 332 pages
Available from: Amazon
APPEAL DENIED— two words that tell Frederick Starks his fate is sealed in this godforsaken prison. His estranged wife, whom he loves and hates, depending on the day, is dying. His family is in trouble. They need him—NOW—and he’s all but useless to them. His attorney isn’t giving up, but Starks is. Despite his despair, he has two scores to settle, with the inmate who killed his son and the one who killed his friend. Starks soon realizes his situation is worse than he imagined. Betrayals are rampant and gut-wrenching. But it gets worse. A war is brewing among inmates, and a deadly conspiracy is revealed. Starks acts based on the belief that he knows who’s behind it. He’s wrong. He believes he knows who to trust. He’s wrong about that, as well—mistakes he pays for in ways that are unfathomable. As threats against him escalate, his attorney announces the judge who denied his appeal is dead. Is there a chance he’ll get out, or is he destined to spend the rest of his life in misery? Regardless of the outcome, Starks is determined to avenge friends and loved ones. Yet, he wonders if exacting revenge will cost him more than he can afford, and if it will mean the end of any hope of redemption?

When The Phoenix Rises by Nesly Clerge
(The Starks Trilogy #3)

When The Phoenix Rises (The Starks Trilogy #3)They say prison changes a man, and for Frederick Starks, nothing could be truer. Starks has learned to use his success in the outside world to survive within the prison walls, but the price has been heartbreakingly high. Now his appeal has been denied and his last hope for freedom has faded.
The man who thought only of himself first has changed, but not all of it has been for the better. People he left behind need him and he is realizing just how much he needs them. Even as his powerbase is becoming unstable and the target on his back is growing with every hour, he still has some scores to settle and it will require distasteful, but necessary alliances because war is coming within the prison walls and he has no choice but to win. His gut tells him he knows how to stop it, but betrayals and a bad call on his part could prove him wrong.

When it is revealed that his denial could be overturned, Starks knows it is now or never to settle all scores then hope he lives long enough to touch the faces of those he loves. Yes, he is a changed man, but has he lost his soul in the transformation? Who will he be WHEN THE PHOENIX RISES?

What a ride this trilogy has been! Nesly Clerge has grit in his writing. Frederick Starks is one of the most compelling characters I have ever met. He is no saint, never claims to be but he definitely blurs the line between good and evil with his raw and flawed humanity. His metamorphosis from a hard-hearted and pampered mogul to a convicted prisoner who learned the true meaning of loyalty, strength and real fear is riveting. From the ashes that were his life to his rise to power in a dog-eat-dog world proves the strength of Nesly Clerge’s writing ability! You will believe you are there, you will feel what these characters feel. If you are looking for a story that may not be pretty, but is filled with non-stop, razor-taut tension, this is the trilogy to sink your teeth into! As it tests the limits of one man’s ability to change, it will test our limits to understand the sense of justice behind bars. Powerful and magnetic reading created in bold and dramatic strokes.

I am voluntarily reviewing this complimentary copy!

No comments:

Post a Comment