Monday, March 5, 2018

Lake Silence by Anne Bishop The World of the Others #1 (The Others #6)

Lake Silence
My Rating:

Written by: Anne Bishop
Series: The World of the Others #1 (The Others #6)
Sequence in Series: Book 1
Hardcover: 416 pages
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 6, 2018
Genre: Dark Fantasy | Paranormal

In this thrilling and suspenseful fantasy, set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Others series, Vicki DeVine and her lodger, the shapeshifter Aggie Crowe, stumble onto a dead body . . . and find themselves enmeshed in danger and dark secrets.

Human laws do not apply in the territory controlled by the Others–vampires, shapeshifters, and paranormal beings even more deadly. And this is a fact that humans should never, ever forget . . .

After her divorce, Vicki DeVine took over a rustic resort near Lake Silence, in a human town that is not human controlled. Towns like Vicki’s have no distance from the Others, the dominant predators that rule most of the land and all of the water throughout the world. And when a place has no boundaries, you never really know what’s out there watching you.

Vicki was hoping to find a new career and a new life. But when her lodger, Aggie Crowe–one of the shapeshifting Others–discovers a dead body, Vicki finds trouble instead. The detectives want to pin the man’s death on her, despite the evidence that nothing human could have killed the victim. As Vicki and her friends search for answers, things get dangerous–and it’ll take everything they have to stay alive.
Lake Silence (The Others, #6)Lake Silence by Anne Bishop

Vicki DeVine took one thing away from her divorce, the Jumble a resort on Lake Silence. Unused for years, Vicki renovates it and opens its cabins for rent. Her first resident is Aggie Crowe, an Other.

When Aggie finds a dead body, Vicki calls the human authorities. This brings the human authorities onto the Jumble, were Vicki quickly learns is an Other’s domain. Someone is after the Jumble and Vicki will do whatever she can to keep the Jumble and the inhabitants (the Others) safe. With her actions she quickly secures the respect and devotion of the Others.

Veering away from a story based in the Lakeside Courtyard with Meg, Cassandra Sangue, and Simon Wolfgard, as leads, Bishop delves in with a collection of fresh new characters, a few unfamiliar Other species we haven’t seen before and a riveting tale that will have you mystified. Don’t fret, Vicki, coming out of an abusive marriage and learning to stand on her own, is an outstanding, warm-hearted, and as genuine as the come; a lead you can really get behind. I have to admit I'm loving this new direction.

There is something about Anne Bishop's writing and The Others world that she has created that completely captivates me! Utterly Enthralling! It is one of the reads that you want to lock yourself away from the real world so nothing can distract you from immersing yourself deep into the story-telling.

When I finished Lake Silence, I immediately re-read the entire series ending with a second reading of Lake Silence, YES, it is that GOOD!

I received this ARC copy of Lake Silence from Berkley Publishing Group. This is my honest and voluntary review. Lake Silence is set for publication Mar. 6, 2018.

No comments:

Post a Comment