Saturday, April 28, 2018

Arena One: Slaverunners by Morgan Rice (The Survival Trilogy, #1)

Arena One: Slaverunners
by Morgan Rice

My rating: 5 stars

Series: The Survival Trilogy (Book 1)
Paperback: 226 pages
Publisher: Morgan Rice (February 5, 2012)
Genre: YA Post-Apocalyptic | Dystopian
Available from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
New York. 2120. American has been decimated, wiped out from the second Civil War. In this post-apocalyptic world, survivors are far and few between. And most of those who do survive are members of the violent gangs, predators who live in the big cities. They patrol the countryside looking for slaves, for fresh victims to bring back into the city for their favorite death sport: Arena One. The death stadium where opponents are made to fight to the death, in the most barbaric of ways. There is only one rule to the arena: no one survives. Ever. 

Deep in the wilderness, high up in the Catskill Mountains, 17 year old Brooke Moore manages to survive, hiding out with her younger sister, Bree. They are careful to avoid the gangs of slaverunners who patrol the countryside. But one day, Brooke is not as careful as she can be, and Bree is captured. The slaverunners take her away, heading to the city, and to what will be a certain death. 

Brooke, a Marine’s daughter, was raised to be tough, to never back down from a fight. When her sister is taken, Brooke mobilizes, uses everything at her disposal to chase down the slaverunners and get her sister back. Along the way she runs into Ben, 17, another survivor like her, whose brother was taken. Together, they team up on their rescue mission. 

What follows is a post-apocalyptic, action-packed thriller, as the two of them pursue the slaverunners on the most dangerous ride of their lives, following them deep into the heart of New York. Along the way, if they are to survive, they will have to make some of the hardest choices and sacrifices of their lives, encountering obstacles neither of them had expected—including their unexpected feelings for each other. Will they rescue their siblings? Will they make it back? And will they, themselves, have to fight in the arena?
Arena One: Slaverunners by Morgan Rice
(The Survival Trilogy, #1)

Arena One: Slaverunners (The Survival Trilogy, #1)How far would you go to keep a promise...

Let go of reality and fall into a world decimated by war, where monsters rise to control what is left with brute force and terror tactics. Survivors have gone to the fringes of civilization, hiding out in the wilderness. Seventeen-year-old Brooke and her sister Bree have barely survived in the Catskill Mountains, hiding out from the slaverunners who would see them dead or worse, living a nightmarish existence as slaves.

Just as Brooke thinks their luck has changed for the better, Bree is captured and Brooke will do anything to keep her promise to her sister, that she will always take care of her. Now she will stop at nothing to save young Bree and all the years of her Marine father’s training is about to pay off in spades, if she can survive ARENA ONE.

As Brooke takes chase to get her sister back, she encounters an ally, Ben, also desperate to get his stolen brother back. Together they will brave ice, snow and bullets in a fever-pitched chase across unforgiving land to the heart of Hell on Earth, New York City.

Rapid-fire action, over-the-top battles to the death, a car chase to rival all chases and one teen determined to save the all family she has left. Only sheer luck and the grit of her father’s memory on her side, Brooke is about to turn the slaverunners’ world upside down.

Morgan Rice has created that “against-all-odds” tale and turned up the heat to blazing hot in a tale that will pit one teen against a world gone mad. Fabulous writing, pure entertainment and high-powered fantasy comes to life with a bang! Enjoy the ride, white knuckles and all!

No comments:

Post a Comment