Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Menagerie by Rachel Vincent (The Menagerie #1)

My Rating:
Written by: Rachel Vincent
Series: The Menagerie Series (Book 1)
Paperback: 480 pages
Publisher: MIRA
Publication Date: September 27, 2016
ISBN-10: 0778319326
ISBN-13: 978-0778319320
Genre: Dark Fantasy

From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent comes a richly imagined, provocative new series set in the dark mythology of the Menagerie…

When Delilah Marlow visits a famous traveling carnival, Metzger's Menagerie, she is an ordinary woman in a not-quite-ordinary world. But under the macabre circus big-top, she discovers a fierce, sharp-clawed creature lurking just beneath her human veneer. Captured and put on exhibition, Delilah is stripped of her worldly possessions, including her own name, as she's forced to "perform" in town after town.

But there is breathtaking beauty behind the seamy and grotesque reality of the carnival. Gallagher, her handler, is as kind as he is cryptic and strong. The other "attractions"—mermaids, minotaurs, gryphons and kelpies—are strange, yes, but they share a bond forged by the brutal realities of captivity. And as Delilah struggles for her freedom, and for her fellow menagerie, she'll discover a strength and a purpose she never knew existed.

Renowned author Rachel Vincent weaves an intoxicating blend of carnival magic and startling humanity in this intricately woven and powerful tale

Menagerie (Menagerie, #1)Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

Menagerie is the start of a new series from Rachel Vincent that is sure to tantalize your imagination.

Delilah thought she was an average human girl when she finds herself enslaved as a supernatural in a carnival.

In this dystopian world, the average human treats any supernatural as chattel to be owned, controlled and even experimented on at the owner’s whims. Supernaturals have no rights and Delilah finds herself considered one of them after an incident while visiting a carnival where she defends a helpless werewolf child. One minute Delilah was a young graduate with a future and a fiancée, the next a slave, owned and forced to perform in a show while reviled by the people she thought loved her.

Menagerie strikes a deep cord on prejudices, brutality and drive for freedom. The Mengerie is an amazingly deep, heartfelt new series that will have me coming back for more.

I received this ARC copy of Menagerie from MIRA in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication September 27, 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment